

## Warren Shire Council welcomes new Councillors following September 2024 Elections

Warren Shire Council has finalised its 2024 elections, with six new Councillors joining the Council.

The new additions are Tony Wass, Mark Kelly, David Cleasby, Penny Heuston, Bob McKay, and Pauline Serdity, who returns to the Council after a three-year hiatus with 22 years of previous experience.

This group is set to provide a balanced mix of fresh perspectives and seasoned leadership.

Returning Councillors Greg Whiteley, Sarah Derrett, Noel Kinsey, Andrew Brewer, Ros Jackson, and Dirk McCloskey bring continuity to the Council, ensuring stability as it embarks on new initiatives and continues its commitment to the community.

Gary Woodman, General Manager of Warren Shire Council, expressed his optimism: "We are excited to work with both new and returning Councillors to develop and implement our four-year delivery program. This team is well positioned to lead community engagement and consultation, ensuring that Warren Shire continues to thrive."

The Council also acknowledges the contributions of retiring Councillors Mayor Milton Quigley, Kevin Taylor, Heather Druce, Katrina Walker, and the late Ron Higgins, who passed away earlier this year. Mayor Quigley has served the Council for two decades, with six years as Mayor, and his leadership through numerous challenges will be greatly missed. Additionally, Councillor Jo Van Eldonk, who served three years, was not re-elected, and the Council extends its gratitude for her dedication to the Warren Shire community.

Retiring Mayor Milton Quigley commented: "As we welcome our newly elected Councillors for the 2024-2028 term, I am filled with optimism for the future of Warren Shire. Their commitment to serving our community will undoubtedly drive forward our shared goals and improve the quality of life for all residents."



"As we prepare to induct a new Council, we also bid farewell to several long-serving and dedicated Councillors. I did not seek re-election. Those also retiring with me are Councillor Kevin Taylor, Councillor Heather Druce, Councillor Katrina Walker, and the late Councillor Ron Higgins, who passed away earlier this year. Their collective service has been instrumental in shaping the direction and growth of Warren Shire over the past several decades and their legacies will undoubtedly continue to influence the direction of Warren Shire for years to come."

"As I step away from the Mayor's Desk after six years as Mayor and 20 years of service as a Councillor, I reflect on the immense pride I feel for all that we have accomplished together as a community. It has been a privilege to serve Warren Shire, and I extend my heartfelt thanks to my fellow Councillors, the Shire staff, the residents who have entrusted me with this responsibility, and, most importantly, my wife Jenny for her unwavering support throughout my tenure."

"Together, I believe we have built a strong foundation for the future, and I am confident that our incoming Council will continue this important work with vigour and purpose. Thank you all for your support over the years - it has truly been an honour."

From October 2024, Ward A is to be represented by Councillors Pauline Serdity, Greg Whiteley and Noel Kinsey, while Ward B is to be represented by Councillors Sarah Derrett, Penny Heuston and Bob McKay. Ward C is to be represented by Councillors David Cleasby, Mark Kelly and Ros Jackson while Councillors Dirk McCloskey, Andrew Brewer and Tony Wass will represent Ward D.

## For further information, please contact:

Gary Woodman

General Manager Warren Shire Council Email: gary.woodman@warren.nsw.gov.au

Telephone: 02 6847 6600

**END**